Pura Vida is More Than a Phrase

By Jamila Jusino 

Something that stood out to me as I waited at baggage claim at the Juan Santamaria International Airport in San Jose, Costa Rica was a sign that said “Pura Vida” which translates to “Pure Life”. I took a picture of it because I was aware that this was a common phrase in the country, but I didn’t realize the effect it would have on me.

The Costa Rican people use this phrase as a greeting, to say goodbye, or just to let others know that everything is going well. However, “Pura Vida” is not just a phrase, rather it’s a way of life for “Ticos” or Costa Ricans.
This lifestyle means enjoying life day by day and being grateful for the things that one has. Throughout my three-week trip, I heard this phrase dozens of times from taxi drivers, tour guides, and almost any person I interacted with. Every individual I met was incredibly kind and I could see how this “Pura Vida” lifestyle influenced their lives by each person having a positive attitude. It made sense why Costa Rica has been rated the happiest country in the world 4 times!

Growing up in a big city like Chicago, I’ve been used to living a fast-paced life and trying to just get through the day without appreciating the joy of life. Being in this new environment in Costa Rica impacted me by wanting to instill this culture’s values into my life. I got out of my comfort zone and tried new things that I thought I never would do like going ziplining, jumping 150 feet in a free fall, or eating octopus. Now that it’s almost been a year since I visited Costa Rica, I have noticed “Pura Vida” at numerous places I have been to which I believe is a reminder for me to keep being thankful for what life has given me and to live life to the fullest. Pura Vida!

Leave a comment