The Tico Nature

By Jamila Jusino 

“Ticos” or Costa Ricans are very dedicated to protecting their environment. Costa Rica is one
of the greenest countries in the world with 28% of its land being preserved. As my plane was
landing, I was in awe when I saw the beautiful landscape. At my host family’s house, I woke up
every morning to the sight of a breathtaking view of the mountains. I was able to experience
ecotourism by doing new activities like hiking in a rainforest and participating in a chocolate and
coffee tour. I had seen animals I had never seen before like monkeys and sloths. I learned to have
a deeper appreciation for agriculture by learning about the process of growing coffee and
chocolate. I even got to try the inside of a cacao plant, make my own chocolate, and saw coffee
beans being roasted in a traditional machine. In addition, I stayed in an Airbnb for a weekend
that almost had a 360-degree of a forest where I saw a double rainbow. One part of my trip that
was very shocking was seeing a volcano for the first time because I had no idea that Costa Rica
had volcanoes. If you want to experience a rare natural environment, I highly recommend
studying abroad in Costa Rica.

Leave a comment