Business and Bullocks

By Casey Starostka

If you’re reading this because you need one more thing to convince you to finally do that study abroad you’ve been thinking about, I hope this finds you well. 

I saw the experiences my brother had while on his study abroad in Budapest and knew I had to eventually do one as well; and, after being prevented from going abroad three times due to 1) a global pandemic and 2) the closest thing we’ve seen to World War III starting, I was finally placed into the Developing a Business Plan in London Study Abroad program. I say placed into the program as it was not my first choice. Instead, it was one of the only programs I would be able to actually participate in, and I wouldn’t trade my experience for the world.

Embarking on a study abroad experience is often described as a transformative journey, full of opportunities for personal growth, cultural exploration, and building lasting connections; and, although my program was concentrated into two weeks, it was no exception. 

The thing I point to for not only my, but the entire class’s, enjoyment was a shared sense of openness and enthusiasm to do more.  

The program focused first and foremost on creating a business plan modeled after a product or service we were to find in London, requiring teamwork, creativity, and, above all, an ability to adapt to new environments. In my team, we were quick to build off one another, rather than be stuck in disagreement. In a much similar way, the entire class was eager to explore and build off of each other to look for and take advantage of the best opportunities during our time.

By saying “yes” and rather than “but”, we overcome obstacles and turn disagreements into opportunities for growth. The ability to adapt and adopt new ideas became the cornerstone of the trip.

As a result, we were able to form groups and travel collectively and more easily with everyone working together.  One of my favorite experiences that came from this was our group trip to the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park, an astoundingly large and mesmerizing carnival held in London’s famous park. We enjoyed all kinds of rides, games, food and drinks, and of course smiles and laughter. As with many other of our excursions, the only problem with this highlight was that it didn’t last longer.

I say all of this to leave you with these three points, to hopefully guide you or help you in one way or another as you look towards the future and see you’re role in it: 

  1. There’s wonder and excitement in everything, you just have to try a little to look for it. When you do, you’ll be empowered to keep pushing yourself to look for more, and will begin to have greater appreciation for even the small.
  2. The power of “yes, and”. You will without a doubt have situations and conversations where you don’t agree with those around you. Luckily, all you have to do is switch out “but” for “and”, broadening both your possibilities and outlook rather than limiting them.
  3. Do something that scares you (a little). I’ve learned that the only failure in life is not trying in the first place. So be spontaneous; not just with where you go, but in everything: the people you meet, the things you do, and how you carry yourself. If you’re scared of being embarrassed, you’re doing something right.
  4. (Bonus) Have the time of your life.

Leave a comment