The Lessons I Have Learned in Ecuador

By Alexis Olson

When I first applied to be a part of this study abroad program, I was most excited to explore a different country other than the United States. After the trip, I learned there was much more value than just an adventure to a foreign country. There were things to learn that I will forever hold close to me.

One thing I have learned is the effect that humans have had on other species. Growing up in the United States, it has been harder to see the effects on other species due to human activity. In Ecuador, we saw a pink river dolphin that is a critically endangered animal. We may be the very last few people that can witness a pink river dolphin in their natural habitat.

Another lesson I learned was that biodegradable plastic is never fully degradable. We saw trash piled up on Isla de Plata, the sister island to the Galapagos, that was collected for the day. There were five full bags of plastic washed up on shore, including biodegradable plastics. I learned that humans are easily convinced that we are transitioning to better environmental materials.

The last lesson I want to share is that we are all a part of the world that change needs to happen. I learned my value in this world, we are more valuable than we believe ourselves to be. I took on the adventure of participating in the unknown of this trip and learned what needs to be achieved to help our environment. We need to change, we need to act, and we will suffer the consequences if not.

Leave a comment