Appreciating Every Moment: My Time in Japan

By Samarah Nasir

                Change was all I wanted when I first signed up to study abroad. I wanted to go as far as possible from where I was, as someone who had felt she had never pushed herself or gone outside her own shell in her entire life. And so, I flew halfway across the world to Japan, clutching the camera given to me on my 18th birthday, hoping to come back from this trip as someone different.

                In terms of accomplishments and physical things I brought back, I can say I visited every Pokémon center in Tokyo, Japan. I had always loved the show growing up, but it was not an obsession before I got there, and somehow, I just spiraled out of control. I was also able to get a reservation at the Pokémon Café after endlessly pressing the refresh button on the page hoping a slot would open. My family was quite surprised that the bulk of what I brought back was Pikachu plushies, but what can you do?

                In addition, I wanted to give myself a goal so I wouldn’t feel overwhelmed by what to do while there. So, I aimed to try as many sweets as possible and keep a journal of where I bought them. I would then jot down a rating for them 1 – 10. With this goal in mind, I was able to encourage myself to travel to new places in Japan, such as Kyoto, where I tried some matcha desserts at MACCHA HOUSE, a famous dessert place there, as well as to practice my Japanese when ordering food.

                But, while not physical, there was something I brought back from Japan, a feeling, that has stuck with me this whole time. While there, I spent a lot of time flower viewing, also known as hanami in Japan. I took as many photos with my camera as I could as it was Spring when I was there so many flowers were blooming, such as wisteria and azaleas. Most notably cherry blossoms, Sakura, were blooming in various parts of Japan. I spent a lot of time watching the cherry blossoms’ bright pink petals gently glide on the wind down to the ground and remembering something I learned in the Japanese class I took there. You see, the Japanese treasure cherry blossoms so much because they fall so quickly. The flowers themselves bloom at different times across the country and the cherry blossom season is very short as the petals escape from the trees and layer the ground. I learned that this fleetingness symbolized for many Japanese people how beautiful and short life is, and therefore how important it is to treasure every moment. I’d say that’s a feeling many people can resonate with.

                Honestly, I cannot say for sure if this trip changed who I am. I almost expected to be an entirely different person by the time I returned, but I don’t think I am. Instead, I simply have a new calmness inside me. A feeling that we are all more different and more similar than I would have previously thought. I want to cherish what’s in front of me before resting gently on the ground guided by the wind.

Leave a comment