Cobblestone Confessions: Lessons in Leadership and Lakeside Reflections

by Joseph Corso

Embarking upon the escapade to Switzerland, I had no idea what to expect. No amount of research or preparation one typically puts into pan-international flight could give me a solid perspective of the location. Pictures online looked like Kodak moments and family and friends only said, “it’s beautiful”! All these accounts were moments of perfection that these individuals or pictures had captured. Being engulfed in the country for a couple weeks, how would to the true street culture stack up against these highly praised notions? Turned out, it ended up being every bit as accurate and perfect as expected.


This is my third trip with DePaul, having previously been on short term stays to Barcelona, Spain and throughout cities of Tokyo, Hiroshima, Osaka, and Kyoto, in Japan. Having had these under my belt, I felt significantly prepared for these travels and felt the urge to be a supportive leader throughout the journey. I even gained a position as a peer advisor in the study abroad office to further my impact on prospective students, growing a slight passion for encouraging students to take the initiative to travel.

The trip began with glorious jet lag in a quaint, yet bustling city of Geneva. Instantaneously upon landing, we hoped planes, terminals, and trains to arrive at our destination eerily before sunset. No matter my preparation, I still felt the effects of confusion in a new environment, almost forgetting my bag on the train by mere seconds, misnavigating the group at various points, not understanding the combination of diverse languages that were not English, and continually checking in with myself to keep up with the group. These mistakes only piled up, being yelled at in restaurants, looked at by locals with side eyes, and pitied with English when clearly communication wasn’t my strong suit. Moving through Zurich was similar, as the strong German culture there was heavily business focused and stern in their cultural presentation. It took guts, trial and error, and learning to move through each day with a growing confidence. However, these mistakes, which many people find discouraging to traveling, helped me grow immensely as both an individual and a leader. Learning about myself and my true ability outside my comfort zone led to a sort of improvisation in which helped me take care of both myself and advise other students/fellow travelers.



Throughout our stay my inclination grew. I felt more knowledgeable exploring the city. As our course pertained to global nonprofits, I found myself, a common Midwest boy, walking into prestigious establishments designed for top leaders, decision makers and country stakeholders. Having stood and met with stakeholders of the UN, UNICEF, WTO, WWO, Salvation Army, Olympics, FIFA and others, I instantly felt my potential and awareness of global opportunities grow. I no longer felt confined to the busy, yet confiend city of Chicago, and felt that my talents, which selected me for this trip, could continue my path further throughout the world. This was not only apparent in our visits but our travels as well. I found myself in towns of Lausanne, Gruyere, Lucerne, and small European annexes I would have never envisioned myself within. Walking the cobblestone paths of the old world made me feel as if I I had connected with a new culture further ingrained in history. Having had been a goal of mine to return to Switzerland as it was a quick one-hour layover location of one of my past trips, these walks made me feel fulfilled, setting my mind to a goal and accomplishing it by embracing the opportunity at all costs through each step.


I have also wanted to be a leader, even majoring in business management to chase that managerial attitude. But leadership doesn’t need to solely pertain towards business dealings or inclined organizational prowess. Through this trip I had realized what it meant: to be a leader of oneself, encouragement of others, and positive reinforcement. By resounding these considerations, my social leadership was exemplified, even leading me to take the initiative to navigate to France with a small group of us on our off day. Now I can say I’ve been to France! Never having the confidence to self-navigate foreign areas before, this was a grand step for me as I now hold a sincere desire to do more outside my comfort zone and explore areas the world has to offer regardless of how daunting the planning may be.


As we walked through Annecy, France, the sky began to clear from the snowy morning unveiling the cascading mountain that looked down upon us the entire time without our recognition. The ominous clouds hung low as ducks hunted and the cold river continuously reminded us of its infinite movement. As I stepped to the end of the dock and embraced the mountain, I placed my hands behind my back and took the moment in fully. Having stood there and reflected on my life (where it was, where it is, and where it is going), it will forever be a moment etched into my brain. A reset if you will by slowing down. Our life is so fast that we do not have the time to appreciate the moments we are in. Living in Chicago and having our heads down in books, career jobs, and our phone never allows us to slow down. Having this moment allowed me to understand the vast nature of the world and appreciate both nature for being able to house me, and myself for being able to embrace the surroundings that accepted me. I encourage more people to put down the phone, sign off the laptop, and take that study break to reflect on where they are and appreciate all the things you have accomplished to get you to that point, while encouraging yourself to continue through the daily adversity for the amazing opportunities to come.

Best,
Joseph Corso

Leave a comment